Posted on June 05, 2009

BFGoodrich Tires Names Larry Roeseler 2008 Motorsports Person of the Year


Continuing a tradition that began in 2003, BFGoodrich® Tires named off-road legend Larry Roeseler as the 2008 BFGoodrich Tires Motorsports Person of the Year at the 41st Annual Tecate SCORe Baja 500 press conference. The award recognizes the achievements of drivers and officials in each racing series in which BFGoodrich Tires competes. A Southern California native, Roeseler has been racing in the SCORe Baja 1000 since 1972 and he has compiled an amazing 17 class wins, both on two wheels and four wheels, including a race-record 13 overall victories, 10 of which came on a motorcycle. Roeseler has also amassed an astonishing 11 SCORe Baja 500 overall wins, all of which contributed to this recognition.

To win the prestigious award, the person must have made a significant contribution to racing both on and off the track, demonstrated a commitment to excellence with an uncompromising passion for motorsports, shown a sincere dedication to improve off-road motorsports for all competitors and leave a positive lasting mark.

"Look back at the past recipients of the award and you'll notice that some of the most recognized names in racing have been honored," said Roberts Kukainis, motorsports manager for BFGoodrich Tires. "Our previous five are proof that the standard is high, and Roeseler is a fitting recipient. He's a standup guy both on and off the race course and we are extremely honored to recognize Larry with this award."

Roeseler has endured the harshness of off-road racing for more than 35 years on motorcycles, buggies and trucks. Having already established himself as a well-known off-road racer, Roeseler joined Kawasaki's Team Green™ in 1987, where he went on to win 10 International Six Days enduro (ISDe) gold medals, two silver medals and one bronze. In 1999, Roeseler was honored by the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) with an induction into the AMA Hall of Fame. After retiring from a successful motorcycle career in 1994, Roeseler's four-wheel domination began. "Mr. Baja," as he is often referred, has 39 career SCORe Baja race wins, 17 career SCORe Baja 1000 class wins and 11 career SCORe International season point championships. He has been associated with the most high-profile teams in the business including Ivan Stewart, Terrible Herbst Motorsports, and currently Norman Motorsports.

The 2008 season proved to be yet another success for Roeseler, as he capped it off with his 13th SCORe Baja 1000 overall win with teammate Roger Norman. Roeseler and Norman finished the 631.35-mile loop in their Norman Motorsports Ford F-150 Trophy Truck outfitted with BFGoodrich Baja T/A® KR off-road tires in 12 hours, 40 minutes and 33 seconds. The 2008 SCORe Baja 1000 victory was Roeseler's fifth straight win, having won the last four years driving with Troy Herbst in Class 1, all five occurring on BFGoodrich Tires. The 2008 SCORe Baja 1000 victory was also the second straight win in 2008 for Roeseler and Norman, who won the SCORe Terrible's Primm 300 in September. The Norman Motorsports team finished an impressive second overall in the 2008 SCORe Trophy Truck class, just 20 points behind the 2008 SCORe overall points champion, B.J. Baldwin. Roeseler's accomplishments did not end in 2008; he set a new Laughlin Leap record of 161' 6" inches in his 1,000 horsepower #88 single seat Trophy Truck in January 2009.

each year, BFGoodrich selects five finalists with one winner selected from the distinguished group. The inaugural winner of the award in 2003 was Sal Fish, President/CeO of SCORe International, the world's premier off-road racing series, and home to events like the SCORe Baja 1000. The 2004 winner, Rod Hall, is widely considered the most successful driver in off-road history, having earned 19 SCORe Baja 1000 class victories. In 2005, BFGoodrich Tires honored the contributions of Frank DeAngelo and recognized him as the cornerstone of the BFGoodrich motorsports program, and the 2006 honor was bestowed upon Marty Fiolka, editor-in-chief director of the off-road group at Advanstar Communications, which publishes DIRTsports magazine. In 2007, Rob MacCachren was recognized for his extraordinary contributions to off-road motorsports, numerous business accomplishments, and 40th annual SCORe Baja 1000 victory.

Using motorsports as a proving ground for more than 30 years, BFGoodrich Tires is involved in every type of racing, including oval, sports car, drifting, drag, desert, dirt, rally, and extreme rock crawling. BFGoodrich Tires combines technological expertise with vast motorsports experience, delivering a high performance tire for every type of vehicle.

About BFGoodrich

BFGoodrich Tires is dedicated to providing high performance tires for those who have a passion for driving in virtually any environment. Combining technical expertise with 50 years of motorsports experience, BFGoodrich delivers tires for a full range of driving experiences from ultra-high performance street to off-road terrain with one common theme – extreme performance. Come upgrade your performance with BFGoodrich and see where our tires can take you at,, as well as on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at @BFGoodrichTires.

Category: Car & Light Truck